Language technologies: valuable tools

Language technologies have become part and parcel of the industry today. Intelligently used by qualified experts, they can deliver significant advantages:
  • Fast and reliable service
  • Content accuracy and consistency
  • Information security and confidentiality
  • Risk elimination
  • Cost control

Though increasingly sophisticated, these technologies are still far from replacing human expertise—as a quick look at any machine translation will make abundantly clear. That said, “machine translation” and “computer-aided translation” (CAT) should not be taken to mean the same thing. Indeed, they represent radically different technological approaches.

FROM CAT TO CAPT

line separator

Computer-aided translation (CAT) is particularly useful for identifying and retrieving previously translated text segments, which are stored in translation memories, databases and archives.

CAT essentially ensures that any identical passages are translated identically. Not only does this contribute to message consistency, it can also speed up the process for the language professionals assigned to the job, generating efficiency gains.

There are many CAT tools. Far from being perfect, however, every one of them involves risks and costs that must be assessed in relation to any potential gains. Only the judgment and knowledge of a real language expert can guarantee the actual value of a given technology and ensure selection of the right tool, based on the challenges inherent to each text, project or sector.

At Versacom, we go beyond computer-aided translation to offer CAPT, or computer-aided professional translation—a term we’ve coined to represent a distinctive technological approach used only by key service providers that are 100% operated by language professionals. Over the coming months and years, you can expect to hear this term used more and more often.

EXCLUSIVE MANAGEMENT TECHNOLOGIES

line separator

CAPT is just one aspect of our technology expertise and strategy. Guided by our senior executives—language professionals of long standing—our IT experts have also developed proprietary management technologies. These technologies simplify, accelerate, optimize and ensure the security of hundreds of tasks and support operations that are intrinsic to our entire process and performed by our managers and language experts alike.

More about our technological resources >>>

CAPITALIZE ON OUR FULL RANGE OF EXPERTISE!

Copyright © Versacom 2012

Valeur des technologies

Les technologies langagières sont aujourd’hui incontournables. Intelligemment exploitées par des experts qualifiés, elles peuvent vous apporter des avantages décisifs :
  • Rapidité et fiabilité du service
  • Exactitude et uniformité des traductions
  • Sécurité et confidentialité de l’information
  • Élimination des risques
  • Contrôle des coûts

Ces technologies sont cependant loin de pouvoir remplacer l’expertise humaine. On n’a qu’à lire une traduction automatique pour s’en convaincre. Mais il ne faut pas confondre traduction automatique et traduction assistée par ordinateur (TAO). Ce sont des stratégies technologiques radicalement différentes.

DE LA TAO À LA TPAO

line separator

La TAO permet surtout de repérer, dans des mémoires et des archives de traduction, les éléments d’un texte qui existent déjà dans la langue cible.

En principe, elle vous assure que les passages identiques sont traduits de la même façon, ce qui contribue à la cohérence de vos messages. Elle peut aussi accélérer le travail des langagiers et vous procurer des économies.

Il existe de nombreux outils de TAO. Tous demeurent toutefois très imparfaits. Ils comportent des risques et des coûts qu’il faut bien évaluer par rapport aux gains d’efficacité réels qu’ils vous apportent. Seuls le jugement et le savoir de véritables experts du secteur peuvent garantir la valeur concrète d’une technologie et le choix du bon outil en fonction des défis particuliers d’un texte, d’un projet, d’un client.

C’est pourquoi nous allons bien au-delà de la TAO et vous offrons une expertise éprouvée en TPAO, ou traduction professionnelle assistée par ordinateur. Au cours des mois et des années, on peut d’ailleurs s’attendre à voir la TPAO s’imposer comme nouvelle norme distinctive des cabinets d’experts langagiers.

DES TECHNOLOGIES DE GESTION EXCLUSIVES

line separator

Chez nous, en outre, il y a bien plus que la traduction professionnelle assistée par ordinateur. Guidés et accompagnés par nos hauts dirigeants langagiers, nos experts en TI ont conçu des technologies de gestion exclusives. Ces technologies simplifient, accélèrent, optimisent et sécurisent des centaines de tâches ou d’interventions de soutien qui font partie intégrante de notre processus complet.

En savoir plus sur nos ressources technologiques >>>

Copyright © Versacom 2012